Afflecktion

I am in love with a man named Benjamin Geza Affleck-Boldt.. He is fondly called Ben and occasionally appears in my suburban cinema house. He has a mind that spells substance and eyes that display meaning.

He has two kids and a beautiful wife to love. Above all, he has this need. The need to address things that affect him. In a way, that it makes sense to the one who listens to him.

Through movies.

He made me go weak in my knees with Good Will Hunting when he played Chuckie to Will. The only other time his screen presence stirred a little wink in me was in Pearl Harbour. Most of the other times, I loved the thought that he put behind every movie he ever wrote (Good Will Hunting, Gone Baby Gone, The Town), and produced (Stolen Summer)..

Most of Affleck’s work came through with his dialogues… So whether it was Chuckie’s “Look – you’re my best friend, so don’t take this the wrong way. In twenty years, if you’re still livin’ here, comin’ over to my house to watch the Patriots games, still workin’ construction, I’ll fuckin’ kill you. That’s not a threat; now, that’s a fact. I’ll fuckin’ kill you.” to Will.. or the opening lines of Gone Baby Gone…every dialogue made me think and fall in love with the simplicity with which his thoughts are presented.

What I most like about the dude is that he is absolutely normal.. When he ain’t playing movie man, he is a good father to his two children, a friend to his poker buddies on weekends, a husband to Jennifer Garner and an avid book reader. Much like the faceless man of my dreams.

Lets just hope that if Dolly ever clones herself “perfectly”, Ben Affleck would get one of his too and send him across to India.

Until then, I would only say “Respect, Ben!”.. Barney Style 🙂

Leave a Reply

