Who Says (Mumbai version)

I have heard enough about John Mayer and his song (that goes by the title) and wondered how would a young guy in Bombay interpret the song and sing it? ..A little attempt made me come up with the below mentioned.

John Mayer – Who says (Mumbai version ft.A)

Who says I can’t get stoned
Turn up the volume of the stereo,
Me in your house of dope,
Who says I can’t be stoned?

Who says I can’t be free
From all of the things that I want to be,
Never write my history
Who says I can’t be free?

It’s been a long night in Mumbai city,
It’ll be a long night driving home..
I don’t remember roads looking any better
But then again, I don’t remember road… (the ones who have travelled here in the rains will know what i mean)

Who says I can’t get stoned
Call up that girl that I used to know,
Fake EVERYTHING for three hours or so,
Who says I can’t get stoned?

Who says I can’t take time
Remain on facebook for the longest time,
Pray on fate for that girl (to be) online,
Who says I can’t take time?

It’s been a long time in Mumbai city,
It’s been a long time in Pune too..
I don’t remember them looking any better
But then again, they look like nothing new

Who says I can’t get stoned
Plan a trip to Latur alone
Doesn’t matter if it is even known,
Who says I can’t get stoned..

It’s been a long time in Mumbai City
It’s been a long time since 22,
I don’t remember me looking any bigger,
But then again I don’t remember me…

** Disclaimer **

1. The song is fantastic! You can find it here.

2. I ain’t plagiarizing lyrics, I am just putting a point of view across. Apologies for hurting sentiments, if any. 😛

Leave a Reply

