Mornings

0630 hrs. I mumble to myself about another daybreak and crinkle in the glistening rays of the sun. Quite strangely,every morning whilst I brush my teeth, a few questions choose to stir my mind up. Most common ones being,

–“How does my alarm clock automatically get into the “Snooze” mode?”

–“Why do I get the best sleep while I am on the toilet seat?”

–“Why did the Bangles choose to write only Manic Monday and not Manic other-days-of-the week?”

–“Why do I almost end up applying shaving cream to wash my face?”

 
When I suddenly realise the amount of time I choose to spend on these stupid questions..
Reality snaps back in the form of the wrist watch.Haste everywhere. A half eaten bread toast  on the table. Running behind the company bus [with an occassional “wait” to the driver],finally managing to enter the bus and feeling like a winner [for catching the bus] and a loser [for being late] at the same time and then, the blissful “preparatory” nap till the workplace.
0900 hrs. Work begins.
 
“I have a “carpe diem” mug and, truthfully, at six in the morning the words do not make me want to seize the day.  They make me want to slap a dead poet.”
4 Comments on “Mornings

Leave a Reply

