Gregarious Recluse

After months of infatuating over a single guy, I burst my bubble by telling myself he would never like me back. It was like telling me that I didn’t want to have fatty products when I was trying to be thin; which ended up failing as well. So then, after the mourning with the drinks and cribbing bout my ruthlessly boring life, I decided to get back in the dating scene once again. Although, this time there were four paths which I could follow:-

a. Dating complete strangers who know nothing bout me.

b. Go out with men friends who have asked me out on several occasions earlier.

c. Go out with a man by asking him out myself.

d. Simply do not date and hang around with friends.

Being the “astrologically CONFUSED” person that I have been labelled in a lot of such situations, the peradventurous me, decided to wander along each of the paths to see which one of them suited me most. What followed were a series of hilarious incidents…..

A. The Others:

So I’m living it up this one fine night, in one of the city’s posh clubs. Sitting, enjoying my drink and the good music being played in the background. Being a weekday, stags were given a relatively cheaper entry. The “friends” were dancing around, and some others prancing in search of the attention so needed to boost their over-deflated morale. And then out of the blues, realisation knocks on my shoulder and directs my gaze to an individual who was already staring at me. Tall, pretty good looking and well dressed for a casual Friday party were the first things that entered mine…The seemingly high me, began to get groovy and my alter egos, started humming…

“It’s now or never…

Come hold me tight…

Speak to me darling…

Be mine tonight….” [Courtesy: Elvis “the King of Pickup Lyrics” Presley]

As the song played in my head, the visibly preen man walks toward me….For some reason, Elvis told me to get ready for some good conversation…And then he came to me, looked at me, smiled and said…….

“Ma’am, I represent Citibank and I have a great offer for you! If you buy the MTV Citibank Credit Card you would get 15% discount on selected night clubs which includes this one as well!”

For some reason, exactly at that point in time the music changed to The Pulp Fiction Soundtrack or in the words of The Black Eyed Peas….”Pump It”

B. GOING OUT WITH ALREADY INTERESTED MEN FRIENDS. [Or so I thought]

So, moving on, after two weeks of the first incident, I decided to go out with this friend from work who had asked me out several times earlier. We hadn’t seen each other in a month or so and hence a good way of catching up was to meet, I believed. But the cynic in me kept telling me that either he or I would grossly embarrass us that night.

Anyway, so we dine [at 1930 hrs!] at this high end restaurant and the “catching up” actually ended up in interesting conversations bout a lot of good things. Just when everything seemed good and I thought of meeting up again, the man gets a call and I only hear stuff like,

“Yeah, I will get there right away. Yess, me too. Don’t go. Please. Stay. Give me 15 minutes. I’ll be right there”

He apologised profusely, and left hurriedly in a cab. Turned out, his -ex [of one year!] wanted to reconciliate for the umpteenth time and it was probably when he spoke with me that I reminded me of her [yeah kick ass joke] and how much he loved her [and hence the asking out of girls during that period of time] ,that he decided not to let her go. Atlast, I get to believe, that I am the re-incarnation of Nirupa Roy. Classic mistiming, I say.

C. ASKING MEN OUT

Now, this is the place where your intelligence is tested. Kindly read the first line. If I had been comfortable with the same, I would have been committed and looking for a marriage date by now.

D. FRIENDS

This was the winner hands down. Cause these are my world’s most innocuous people! Hearty conversations, lots of bowling [ohh yeah I love the game, though I suck at it!] and most importantly, least heed to the ingénue, that is me. No space for inhibitions, yet a certain protocol to abide by. The castles in the air, the fights bout goin Dutch over a cup of coffee by the roadside, the swearing, the innumerable wedding pacts [if in 5 years time, none of us get married, I will have 7 husbands! ha-ha], the swearing over work places, were good enough to keep me happy for a long period of time.

The only conclusion was probably that close relationships do, actually complicate things. Close associations on the other hand, just make it easier to live. By far, the only good thing to happen to humans. The power of symbiosis.

24, raring to go. Who needs romance?

 

“A brief candle; both ends burning

An endless mile; a bus wheel turning

A friend to share the lonesome times

A handshake and a sip of wine

So say it loud and let it ring

We are all a part of everything

The future, present and the past

Fly on proud bird

You’re free at last.” [Courtesy: Lynyrd Skynyrd]

2 Comments on “Gregarious Recluse

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

